The BIG sis

MAC
2 min readJan 15, 2018

--

15th January, the day my big sister turns 30. Suddenly occurs to me that she will not always be here. Someday I’ll feel sad, and I’ll call her, just to hear her tell me “It will be Okay”, her phone would keep ringing and ringing and ri… but she won’t pick nor call back.

It will just be me, in this cold world, alone.

One time back in High School, SS1, to be precise, a bunch of us were caught by a teacher at a game house during peak school hours. We ran as we were apprehended, but someone didn’t. Emmanuel “Fockin Pussyboi” Merotiwon stayed back and decided to snitch on us. Word on the street was, our names were called at the closing assembly, and we were all going to get expelled, but not before we were seriously caned by Mr Lovis.

Now, Mr Lovis was the second most feared teacher in the whole school. Rumour had it that he caned someone till the boy shat his pants.

I imagined my mother’s reaction to this news, naturally, I began to panic. I’d always considered myself the black sheep of the family, but this would cement it. Maybe I even started to cry, but I doubt it (real niggas don’t cry). So I did the only thing I could, call The Big Sister. Of course, she told me, “it will be okay.”

And it was.

Unlisted

--

--

MAC

Little journal entries- grand, funny, searing and visionary.